Get together with friends


GETTING-TOGETHER WITH ERL

That Monday of August 2, 2010, time stood still to accommodate re-bonding with friends whom I’ve had the silliest and the warmest moments to spend with in the 80’s and 90’s when life was everything I thought it was. Fun…fun…and endless fun.

Night came earlier than usual at lunch as if dinner was an extension. I must admit I canceled some appointments on a short notice and sent notes on a rain check. .
There Erl was, vibrant as ever sharing day and night with me like the way it was, laughing our hearts out, bellowing out for some more time, trying to make up missing pieces to fit our memory dbase for very special friends.

Two decades of genuine friendship was blithe to reminisce alongside the endless anecdotes that seem to (no matter how many times) retell themselves the way they were, funny, innocent, and liberating. We never realized each moment of unforgettable experimentation would pave a way to how our characters would stand up for our values.

The heavy rains that nowadays would threaten us challenged us to go past the province of Cardona to pick up another friend, Melody, in my always dependable old silver ford car. If it wasn’t for its weight, we probably would have been swept away by the torrential rains that disabled my wipers after an hour and a half of driving. The outbursts from me and Erl were thundering more than nature did back then. As small beads of joy start to form in the corners of our eyes, we get embellished in the visual time ride in to the late 80’s to early 90’s. Back in the rainpour, Erl came up with a solution to tie a string around the wipers for us to pull back, end to end, in both the rear of the car. Erl hand in hand with Yael served as human wipers for 2 hours while we drove to Cardona, hahahaha. Lucky for us. We never thought that roadtrip was dangerous. God must have sent us a thousand angels to guard us and guide us through the entire night. As we were scared and soaked we had to pass by our house to change dress after fetching Melody when the lights went out. It was Brown out all over Metro Manila! Typhoon signal number 2 was on maybe.

Looks ominous if you ask me. Heaven forbid we went on our gimmick as scheduled. Oh yes. We did. And we had one roller coaster of fun, excitement, and thrills of a lifetime.

Twenty years later, I now can admit to myself that I am proud to have found friends who would stick up with me in good and bad times alike. I am proud to be in a company of then girls with guts, who would take storms calmly under extreme pressure. I am proud to be in a company of now ladies who persevere in their goals despite tremendous odds. Whatever thrown our way, we never give up for a friend, with friends, even if it means just a moment of glory.

I take pride in having spent precious time with these people I call my DEAR FRIENDS FOR LIFE!
Good times then with Rich, Erl, & Cherie.

Rich & Erl getting better each time

Rich, Eleanor & Erl on better days to come

 Cheers to all my friends!!!Melody, Rich, Yael & Erl

Like ·  · Unfollow Post · Share · Delete